St. Gilbert of Sempringham C of E Primary School and Nursery

Courage and Perseverance Conquers All


The Governing Body of St Gilbert’s operates a circle model of governance where the governing body works as a 'whole team' without any committees. Meetings are held every half term, or more if required. This means that Governors have up to date information regarding the school, and can offer timely support and challenge, as well as take action should the need arise.

Core Functions of Governance

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent


The Role of Governors

Governors work on a voluntary basis to support the strategic leadership of the school.  Governors typically serve for four years. To carry out their duties Governors have a number of delegated roles and responsibilities, these are shown below. 


Our Governing Body is made up of 12 Governors: -

  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 Local Authority Governor
  • The Headteacher
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 7 Foundation Governors

Our Governors 


Matt Timings

Type of Governor:  Chairman of the Governors

Profession: Construction Estimator / Project Manager

Term of Office:  15 November 2019 – 14 November 2023


Matt Chapman

Position:  Vice Chairman- Health & Safety Governor 

Type of Governor: LA

Profession: Technical Co-ordinator

Term of Office:  15 November 2017 – 14 November 2021


Emma Hunt

Position: Headteacher

Type of Governor: Ex Officio

Profession: Head-teacher

Date appointed:  1 September 2006



Ian Witham

Position: SEN Governor

Type of Governor: Staff

Profession: Senior Teacher

Term of Office: 24 November 2017 – 23 November 2021



Derek Headland

Position: Link Governor

Type of Governor: Foundation

Profession: Business Owner

Term of Office:  9 July 2018 – 8 July 2022






Robin Baker

Position: Chair of Resources

Type of Governor: Foundation

Profession: Retired Chartered Engineer

Term of Office:  5 October 2019 – 4 October 2023

Resigned 31.08.2020



Lorna Bennett

Position:  Chair of Teaching and Learning

Type of Governor:  Foundation

Profession:  Retired Teacher

Term of Office:  9 December 2019 – 8 December 2023

Resigned 11.01.2021


Tony Cook

Position: Chair of Governors

   Safeguarding Governor

Type of Governor: Foundation

Profession: Independent Education Consultant/Semi Retired

Term of Office:  9 July 1918 – 8 July 2022

Resigned 27.03.21



Sarah Hobbs

Position: Vice Chair

Type of Governor: Foundation

Profession: Freelance Consultant - Leisure, Health and Fitness

Term of Office:  5 May 2020 – 4 May 2024

Resigned 29.03.21



Rev Neil Knox

Type of Governor: Foundation Ex Officio

Profession: Vicar

Date appointed:  15 August 2018

Resigned 30.06.21



Tom Richardson

Type of Governor:  Parent Governor

Profession: Key Account Holder

Term of Office:  8 May 2019 – 7 May 2023

Resigned 30.06.21